Exclusive extract – ‘Con-nerd’ by Oliver Phommavanh

From the author of Thai-riffic!.

IT’S ONE SMALL STEP FOR NERDS, ONE GIANT LEAP TO BEING COOL.

Mama tells me I’m gifted and talented. But I know the truth. I’m just a nerd.
Kids call me Con-nerd – half Connor and all nerd.
I’m supposed to become a doctor but i have this deep, dark secret:  I want to be a cartoonist.
And all of a sudden my mega-cool comics are getting noticed at school – I might even get into a special art class . That would sure impress this girl I’m keen on . . . and it might just be my chance to show the world my true destiny.
But I’m not sure Mama will see it quite that way . . .

Download the first three chapters of Con-nerd.

This entry was posted in Asia, Australian Curriculum, Family, New Books, Primary, Resources, Secondary, Themes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

