Revisiting Robert Newton talking about his novel, When We Were Two. Robert won the Prime Ministers Literary Award for Young Adult fiction yesterday.

When We Were Twohad been brewing in my head for a while. I’d always liked the idea of a road trip story. I liked the idea of the journey itself lending a certain pace or tempo to the narrative, a forward movement where things would be constantly changing. I also liked the idea of the leaving itself, the running away to something better.

For a long time I tossed around who I might take on this journey. I coupled together someone old and someone young, I imagined a boy and a girl and I wondered about the possibilities. In the end, however, I settled for two brothers, Dan and Eddie Wheelan, a decision which no doubt stems from my own life, growing up in a family of boys. I remember being very protective of my younger brother who endured a learning disorder and who was constantly singled out for…

View original post 315 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

